General Meeting Information

Date: June 16, 2020
Time: 4:00 - 5:00 PM
Location: via Zoom

  • Agenda

    Time Topic Purpose Discussion Leader
    4:00 - 4:05 Approval of Notes – June 3, 2020 A Pape/Ranck
    4:05 - 4:10 DASB Report I Lim
    4:10 - 5:15 Allocation of resource  I/D  Pape/Ranck
    5:15 - 5:30 Open Letter on Shared Governance I Tapia

    A = Action D = Discussion I = Information





    • Lorrie Ranck, Co-Chair
    • Sam Bliss
    • Randy Bryant
    • Alicia Cortez
    • Anita Muthyala-Kandula
    • Thomas Ray
    • Thomas Bailey
    • Dana Kennedy
    • Lorna Maynard
    • Ed Ahrens
    • Diana Alves de Lima
    • Cheryl Balm
    • Milena Grozeva
    • Rick Maynard
    • Mary Pape, Co-Chair
    • Erik Woodbury
    •  Grace Lim
  • Minutes

    IPBT – Notes June 16, 2020 submitted by Olga Evert

    Administrative reps: Sam Bliss, Randy Bryant, Alicia Cortez, Moaty Fayek, Anita Muthyala-Kandula, Lorrie Ranck (co-chair), Thomas Ray

    Classified reps: Thomas Bailey, Dana Kennedy, Lorna Maynard

    Faculty reps: Ed Ahrens, Diana Alves de Lima, Milena Grozeva, Mary Pape (co-chair), Rick Maynard, Erik Woodbury

    Student reps: Grace Lim, Sharma Arushi, Jeffrey (DASB fall senator)

    Apologies: Cheryl Balm

    Guests: Sparke Chou, Mary Donahue, Mayra Cruz, Lisa Markus (FA Rep), Vins Chacko (ACE Rep), Mae Lee, Dawn Lee-Tu, Coleen Lee-Wheat, Eric Mendoza, Terrence Mullens, Mallory Newell, Katelyn Pan, Daniel Smith, Danny Solomon, Bob Stockwell, James Tallent, Maristella Tapia

    Approval of Notes – June 9, 2020 were approved.

    DASB Report – The 2019 - 2020 DASB Senate had its last meeting last week. DASB endorsed the Affordable Housing Resolution, heard the Statement of Concern from ASAM, approved the Student Government Stipend Resolution, completed its responses to the annual governance assessment survey and swore in the 2020-2021 DASB Senators. The 2019-2020 Senators also published a petition on titled “Student Petition for Classroom Leniency and Other Measures in Support of BLM” in support of students struggling the most so that they can continue to pursue their academic goals.

    Allocation of resources – Ranck and Pape presented to the committee, “De Anza College IPBT Master Allocation Workbook, Spring 2020 - Strong Workforce and Critical Fall and Summer Resources” and asked the team to do the final review and approve and recommend for approval for College Council on June 18th. De Anza College IPBT Master Allocation Workbook, Spring 2020

    Lorrie reminded everyone that Strong workforce funds must be spent by the end of December 2020 this is the most critical area to address. The SWP amount that needed to be spenddown is around $800K. Regional funds could be used for everything that relates Strong Workforce program and benefit the region.

    The committee approved Strong workforce fund allocation.

    Nursing program current status – Nursing is not being reduced at this time; faculty hiring in progress based on the outcome we will be moving forward; have to fund the program in order to support current students finish the degree; start a new cohort in fall.

    Lorrie Ranck thanked the Faculty, Classified, and Administrators that served this year!

    Open Letter on Shared Governance - Maristella Tapia, Mae Lee, and Bob Stockwell presented an “Open Letter to Senior Staff” for the IPBT committee to read and think about how diverse and inclusive the college is. The letter acknowledges the steps that have recently been taken and provides questions for self-reflection. The letter also includes Guiding Principles with the “aim of re-orienting institutional habits for true shared governance.” The letter can be found here:

Documents and Links

Back to Top